Samoa Observer

Cabinet approves new S.O.E. board chairs, directors

Read the article

Cabinet approves new S.O.E. board chairs, directors

By Sialai Sarafina Sanerivi 30 March 2023, 6:10PM

The Cabinet has approved the appointments of 14 Chairs and 40 new directors to head the different State-owned enterprises (S.O.E.).

According to a Samoa Government statement released to the media on Thursday, the appointments were made by Cabinet in a meeting held on the first day of this month. 

For the position of Chair of the various S.O.E. entities, there have been several changes made which have been approved by the Cabinet. 

At the Development Bank of Samoa (D.B.S.), the National University of Samoa's economics lecturer, Tamaleta Taimang Jensen is the new Chair of the Board. He is a former candidate in the 2021 General Election, who ran under the Tautua Samoa Party banner. 

Toleafoa Douglas Creevey is the new Chair of the Electric Power Corporation (E.P.C.) Board, while civil engineer Leiataua Isikuki Punivalu is the new Samoa Airport Authority (S.A.A.) Board Chair.

Lauano Lauina Grace, an architect by profession, is the new Chair of the Samoa Housing Corporation (S.H.C.) Board, while Tuifaasisina John Nickel is the Chair of the Samoa Shipping Services (S.S.S.) Board. 

The Women in Business Development Inc. President, Peseta Afoa Arasi-Tiotio is the new Chair of the Samoa Water Authority (S.W.A.) Board, while Magele Arthur Penn has given the nod as the new Chair of the Unit Trust of Samoa (U.T.O.S.) Board. 

The Samoa National Provident Fund (S.N.P.F.) Board has a new Chair in Papali'i Moala Tavita, who is also currently a Board Director of the superfund. 

Samoa's weightlifting coach Tuaopepe Jerry Wallwork, currently a Board Director for the Accident Compensation Corporation, has been appointed Board Chairman of the A.C.C. 

Lemamea Lemalu Dr. Limbo Fiu, a specialist in cardiology and former Samoa Association of General Practitioners president, is the new Chair of the National Kidney Foundation of Samoa Board. 

Academic Dr. Maria Kerslake is the Chair of the Samoa Qualification Authority (S.Q.A.), while veteran lawyer and former Samoa Law Society president, Leiataualesa Komisi Koria is the new Samoa Sports Facilities Authority Board Chair. 

And Sulamanaia Nuuetolu Montini Ott remains as the Chair for the Scientific Research Organisation of Samoa (S.R.O.S.) Board. 

"Each has signed the letters of offer that were extended to them and will officially take up their responsibilities once the Head of State has signed their Warrants of Appointment," the Government statement reads.  

Last year a total of 76 board director vacancies for 23 State-owned enterprises, that oversee the governing of public bodies were advertised by the Ministry of Public Enterprises. 

In a previous interview with this newspaper, the Minister of M.P.E, Leatinuu Wayne So’oialo said the new process now for interested applicants is that they have to be specific in which S.O.E. board they were applying for. 

This has changed from the previous practice, according to Leatinuu, where applicants would submit one general application for any board director position. 

“That is no longer the practice you have to be specific on which board to apply for,” said Leatinuu. “Majority of the Board of Directors positions are due in March and the I.S.C. is putting out the advertisement now and the selected Boards should be approved by Cabinet by then.” 

The board directors set operational and organisational policies, provide overall leadership and strategic direction, plan and monitor work and financial performance, and report on that performance to the shareholder (Government).

See the full list of new Board of Directors below: 

Development Bank of Samoa

Tamaleta Taimang Jensen (Chair)

Fuimaono Vaitolo Ofoia

Fuimaono Beth Onesemo

Electric Power Corporation

Toleafoa Douglas Creevey (Chair)

Tapuala Letoa Ulupale Fuimaono

Samoa Airport Authority

Leiataua Isikuki Punivalu (Chair)

Tina Ula Saili

Clare Leota

Samoa Housing Corporation

Lauano Lauina Grace (Chair)

Violet Roebeck-Fasavalu

Elizabeth Chan Tung-Peters

Samoa International Finance Authority

Ala Lima-Meleisea

Samoa Land Corporation

Luafalealo Talalelei Pauga

Galuvao So’oalo Viliamu Sepulona

Leota Toilolo Lene Leota

Gaga’eolo Sala Manase Reupena

Samoa Post Limited

Stefan Szegedi

Samoa Shipping Corporation

Alice Niumata Leota

Vagana Stephanie Ela Lomitusi

Tuilagi James Bartley

Samoa Shipping Services

Tuifaasisina John Nickel (Chair)

Aiolupotea Sauimalae Malolo Chu Ling

Taulapapaalemalietoa Pao Lauiliu

Ti’a James Mariner

Samoa Trust Estates Corporation

Lemalu Selesitina Puleaga Meni-Reti

Samoa Water Authority

Peseta Afoa Arasi Tiotio (Chair)

Tagaloa Nadia Meredith-Hunt

Unit Trust of Samoa

Magele Arthur Penn (Chair)

Seulupe Michelle Macdonald

Tufeao Faatuai Pulepule Fanolua

Lemalu Patricia Ah Chong-Fruean

Samoa Life Assurance Corporation

Mataia Tui Faasili

Samoa National Provident Fund (Current Director Moala Tavita Moala appointed as Chair)

Vaipa Imelda Tafeamaalii-Lui

Elena Ainuu Roberts

Leota Lalomanu Kosi Latu

Accident Compensation Corporation (Current Director Tuaopepe Jerry Wallwork appointed as Chair)

Asiata Prof Dr Satupaitea Viali

National Kidney Foundation of Samoa

Lemamea Lemalu Dr Limbo Fiu (Chair)

Maiava Lavea Iosefa

Afamasaga Vernier Punivalu Galuvao

Samoa Fire & Emergency Services Authority

Aiono Meresaini Siaosi-Laulu

Funefeai David Oliver Vaai

Samoa Qualifications Authority

Dr Maria Talaitupu Kerslake (Chair)

Leatauvao Lefe’au Ioane Malaki

Fuimaono Pemerika Suemai Aleki

Jane Bentin-Fiti

Tu’u Fu’a Lafaialii-Hazelman

Samoa Sports Facilities Authority

Leiataualesa Komisi Koria (Chair)

Sala Stella Siale Vaea Tagitau

Rosemarie Agnes Esera

Samoa Tourism Authority

Tupai Saleimoa Rapi Vaai

Scientific Research Organization of Samoa

Sulamanaia Nuuetolu Montini Ott (Chair)

Manuleleua Sonny Lameta

Land Transport Authority

Lilomaiava Peter Punivalu (Chair)

Telesia Maria Niumata




By Sialai Sarafina Sanerivi 30 March 2023, 6:10PM
Samoa Observer

Upgrade to Premium

Subscribe to
Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy unlimited access to all our articles on any device + free trial to e-Edition. You can cancel anytime.