England wins toss, decides to bat 1st vs India in 4th test

AHMEDABAD, India (AP) — England won the toss on Thursday and decided to bat first in the fourth and final cricket test against India that will determine the teams for the World Test Championship.

Jasprit Bumrah has gone on leave due to personal reasons for India and has been replaced by Mohammed Siraj. England made two changes with Dan Lawrence and Dom Bess coming in for Stuart Broad and Jofra Archer.

With India leading the series 2-1, a win or a draw for India will secure the series and a place in the test championship final against New Zealand. A win for England would seriously complicate matters for the hosts and help Australia; India needs a series win to advance to the final and prevent a final between New Zealand and Australia.

England opened the four-test series with a 227-run victory. India rallied to level it in Chennai with a 317-run victory and won the third third test by 10 wickets in two days on a spin-friendly wicket at Ahmedabad.

India has not lost two tests in a home series since 2012, when England won.


Lineups: India: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Siraj

England: Dom Sibley, Zak Crawley, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root (captain), Ben Stokes, Ollie Pope, Ben Foakes, Dan Lawrence, Dom Bess, Jack Leach, Jimmy Anderson


More AP sports: https://apnews.com/hub/apf-sports and https://twitter.com/AP_Sports

Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?