Toa announces World Cup squad

By Jarrett Malifa 27 September 2022, 1:39PM

The Toa Samoa have named a strong 24-man squad for the upcoming 2022 Rugby League World Cup with NRL stars Brian To’o, Jarome Luai, Junior Paulo and Stephen Crichton all selected in the side.

Joseph Suaalii has also been selected in the squad which features a good mix of young guns and veterans who have opted to represent their heritage over their usual country of residence.

Earlier this week, Joseph Sua'ali'i stunned Kangaroos fans in choosing Samoa over his country of birth with some high-profile commentators laying the blame on head coach Mel Meninga for not doing enough to secure the Rooster’s flyer.

The Matt Parish coached side was named by Samoa Rugby League President, Tagaloa Faafouina Su'a on Tuesday afternoon at the Samoa Tourism Authority (S.T.A.) fale in Apia.

The Toa Samoa will open their World Cup campaign against England on Saturday 15 October at St James' Park, Newcastle.

Toa Samoa Squad:

Anthony Milford

Braden Hamlin-Uele

Brian To’o

Chanel Harris-Tavita

Danny Levi

Fa’amanu Brown

Hamiso Tabuai-Fidow

Izack Tago

Jarome Luai

Jadyn Su’a

Joseph Suaalii

Joshua Aloiai

Josh Papalii

Junior Paulo

Kelma Tuilagi

Luciano Leilua

Martin Taupa’u

Mathew Feagai

Oregon Kaufusi

Royce Hunt

Spencer Leniu

Stephen Crichton

Taylan May

Tyrone May


Rugby league
By Jarrett Malifa 27 September 2022, 1:39PM
Samoa Observer

Upgrade to Premium

Subscribe to
Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy unlimited access to all our articles on any device + free trial to e-Edition. You can cancel anytime.