Schools Rugby 7s Championships pools confirmed

The Schools Rugby Union and Schools Principals Association has confirmed the pools for the Schools Rugby 7s Championships on Wednesday at the High Performance Unit field at Tuanaimato.

The championships will be held in conjunction with the Samoa Rugby Union. Colleges from both Upolu and Savai'i will again compete for the U16 and U18 titles as part of this year's School rugby sevens championships. 

Four Colleges from Savaii have secured a spot in the competition: they are Palauli Sisifo College; Tuasivi College; Church College of Vaiola; and Itu o Tane College.

The U18 Boys Pool A comprises Leifiifi College, Church College of Pesega, Church College of Vaiola, and Safata College. 

For Pool B they have Itu o Tane College, Nuuausala College, Falealili College, and Saint Joseph's College.

For U18 Girls Pool A they have Falealili College, Aana No 2 College, Faleata College, and Tuasivi College from Savai'i. while for Pool B they have Church College of Pesega, Palauli i Sisifo College, Avele College and Safata College.

And the U16 Boys in Pool A include Church College of Pesega, Nuuausala College, Leifiifi College, and Church College of Vaiola and for Pool B they have Aleipata College, Itu o Tane College, Saint Joseph's College and Safata College.

A number of schools who competed in the previous year are not participating this year such as Don Bosco College-Salelologa, Leulumoega College, Mataaevave College, Robert Louis Stevenson, Aana No1 College, Palauli College, Lefaga College, and Avele College.

Few weeks ago, some of these schools competed in the final for the schools' rugby 15s championship where some of these schools went home with the title and trophies.

Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?