Government administration salaries cost $9.22million

By Joyetter Feagaimaali’i-Luamanu 26 September 2017, 12:00AM

Taxpayers will have to fork out $78,234 more for the salaries of the administration of the government for the financial year 2017-2018 compared to the previous financial year.

According to the Approve Estimates of Receipts and Payments of the government for the Financial Year Ending 30 June 2018, salaries will cost taxpayers $9.22million for Financial Year in question, compared to $9.14million the year before.

A total of $573,929 is paid to the Head of State and Members of the Council of Deputies, in accordance with the Head of State Act 1965.

The Head of State, His Highness Tui A'ana Tuimaleali'ifano Va'aleto'a Sualauvi II, remains the highest paid official on the land with a base salary of $203,855 including benefits. 

According to the financial document, a total of $315,180 is allocated for the base salaries of three Members of the Councils of Deputies. Only positions are occupied at the moment and they are held by Le Mamea Ropati and Tuiloma Pule Lameko. 

$1.92million has been set aside for salaries of the Executive Branch of government. 

Prime Minister, Tuilaepa Sa’ilele Malielegaoi is paid a total of $193,602 which includes benefits. 

Deputy Prime Minister, Fiame Naomi Mata’afa, earns $153,831 per annum – including allowances of $12,000.  

The salaries for the other 11 Cabinet Ministers cost $1.57million including allowances. Their base salaries are $132,000. 

A total of $1.6million is allocated to pay the Judiciary branch of government. For Financial Year 2016-2017, it cost $1.43million. 

But for the new year, $1.64million has been approved, an increase of $51,864. 

This is the breakdown. 

The Chief Justice, His Honour Patu Tiava’asue Falefatu Sapolu’s salary is $179,994 while the President of the Land and Titles Fepuleai Letufuga Atilla Ropati, makes $126,072. 

A total of $664,145 has been budgeted for the Supreme Court Justices while 467,517 has been allocated for the salaries of the District Court Judges.

For Members of Parliament, their salaries come out to $5.54million. 

Speaker of Parliament, Leaupepe Tole’afoa Fa’afisi salary totals to $139,325 including allowances of $8,000 while Deputy Speaker, Nafoitoa Misa Talaimanu gets paid $103, 407 – inclusive of allowances worth $3,600.

Other Members of Parliament salaries come up to $5.30million which includes allowances of $238,800. Also included in the budget is the sitting allowances total of $300,000. 

The 13 Associate Ministers and Parliamentary Under Secretary’s salaries comes up to 1.43million with benefits of $68,400. 

The Controller and Chief Auditor, Fuimaono Camillo Afele’s salary is $134,085. The Ombudsman Maiava Iulai Toma’s pay is $130,681.

By Joyetter Feagaimaali’i-Luamanu 26 September 2017, 12:00AM
Samoa Observer

Upgrade to Premium

Subscribe to
Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy unlimited access to all our articles on any device + free trial to e-Edition. You can cancel anytime.