Australia wins toss, bowls in 2nd T20 against New Zealand

By Associated Press 25 February 2021, 12:00AM

DUNEDIN, New Zealand (AP) — Australia won the toss and chose to bowl Thursday in the second Twenty20 cricket international against New Zealand at the University Oval.

New Zealand leads the five match series after winning the first match at Christchurch by 53 runs.

Both teams named unchanged lineups.

New Zealand stuck with out-of-form opener Martin Guptill, who made a third-ball duck in the opening match and who has scored only 87 runs at an average of 10.8 in his last eight T20 innings.

The home side also retained fast bowler Kyle Jamieson, who has taken only four wickets in five T20 internationals.

Australia kept faith in Josh Philippe, who made 2 in his T20 debut in Christchurch.



New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Tim Seifert, Kane Williamson (captain), Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Kyle Jamieson, Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult.

Australia: Aaron Finch (captain), Matthew Wade, Josh Philippe, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Marsh, Daniel Sams, Ashton Agar, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Adam Zampa.

Umpires: Shaun Haig and Chris Gaffaney, New Zealand.

Television umpire: Chris Brown, New Zealand. Match referee: Jeff Crowe, New Zealand.


More AP sports: and

By Associated Press 25 February 2021, 12:00AM

Trending Stories

Samoa Observer

Upgrade to Premium

Subscribe to
Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy unlimited access to all our articles on any device + free trial to e-Edition. You can cancel anytime.