Zimbabwe wins toss, opts to bat in 3rd ODI against Pakistan

RAWALPINDI, Pakistan (AP) — Zimbabwe captain Chamu Chibhabha won the toss Tuesday and elected to bat in the third one-day international against a Pakistan lineup seeking a series sweep.

All-rounder Faheem Ashraf was ruled out because of a stomach illness and 25-year-old Khushdil Shah was awarded an ODI debut in one of four changes to the Pakistan lineup which won the second game by six wickets last Sunday. Shah's only international experience was Twenty20 encounter against Australia at Perth last year.

Left-handed opener Fakhar Zaman and fast bowler Mohammad Hasnain got their first starts of the series, replacing Abid Ali and Imad Wasim.

Left-arm fast bowler Wahab Riaz, who took four wickets in Pakistan’s 26-run win in the first match, returned at Haris Rauf's expense.

Zimbabwe made only one change, including fast bowler Donald Tiripano instead of Carl Mumba.



Pakistan: Babar Azam (captain), Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zamn, Haider Ali, Mohammad Rizwan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hasnain, Wahab Riaz, Shaheen Afridi Musa Khan.

Zimbabwe: Chamu Chibhabha (captain), Sikandar Raza, Brian Chari, Tendai Chisoro, Craig Ervine, Wessley Madhevere, Donald Tiripano, Richard Ngarava, Blessing Muzarabani, Brendan Taylor, Sean Williams.


More AP sports: and

Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?