Prime Minister completes his team, Fonotoe left out again

By Diedre Fanene 27 March 2016, 12:00AM

With the announcement of the thirteen Associate Ministers by Prime Minister Tuilaepa Sa’ilele Malielegaoi on Thursday, his Cabinet for the next five years is now completed.

The Prime Minister made the announcement at the Fiame Mataafa Faumuina Mulinuu II Government Building in Apia.

The biggest talking point perhaps was the exclusion of former deputy Prime Minister, Fonotoe Pierre Lauofo. The former Minister of Trade Negotiations was not picked in the new Cabinet announced two weeks ago but he was again excluded on Thursday.

He was also notably absent at the swearing in ceremony of the new Associate Ministers.

Speaking at the swearing in ceremony on Thursday, Tuilaepa said it was important to find the right balance and ensure that those who are chosen are suitable to support the work of each cabinet minister’s portfolio.

“There are many ways to serve our country - as a cabinet minister, associate minister or through many of the vitally important parliamentary committees,” Tuilaepa said.

“In selecting the associate ministers, it was again very important to make sure that our choices are representative of a wide and varied group, while also acknowledging personal attributes, skills and experience.”

The Prime Minister spoke about the contribution by every member.

“As this is the first time we have such an overwhelming majority in Parliament, it’s even more important that the work of government follows the guidelines of good governance,” he said.

“We have to check each other and make sure that what is appropriate and good for Samoa is what takes precedence. 

“We are all human, so Government is never going to be perfect.  Therefore it’s important that we are not hesitant to employ all measures of good governance so we remain accountable and on track with our plans for the development of the country and the improvement of livelihoods for all.”

The following is Tuilaepa’s team:

Government’s Cabinet for 2016-2021:

Prime Minister, Tuilaepa Sailele Malielegaoi (Lepa)

Ministry of the Prime Minister and Cabinet; Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade; Office of the Attorney General; Public Service Commission.

Deputy Prime Minister, Fiame Naomi Mataafa (Lotofaga)

Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment.

Lautafi Fio Purcell (Satupaitea)

Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Labour; Ministry of Public Enterprises; Samoa Tourism Authority; Samoa Land Corporation.

Tuitama Dr .Talalelei Tuitama (Aana Alofi No.1 East)

Ministry of Health

Sala Fata Pinati (Gagaemauga No.1)

Ministry of Police and Prisons

Sili Epa Tuioti (Faasaleleaga No.1 East)

Ministry of Finance; Central Bank of Samoa; Development Bank of Samoa

Faimalotoa Kika Stowers (Gagaifomauga No.1)

Ministry of Women, Community and Social Development.

Laaulialemalietoa Polataivao Leuatea (Gagaifomauga No.3)

Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries; Scientific Research Organisations of Samoa-SROS.

Afamasaga Rico Tupai (Aana Alofi No.3)

Ministry of Communications and Information Technology.

Faaolesa Katopau Ainuu 

(Vaimauga Sisifo No.2)

Ministry of Justice and Courts Administration.

Tialavea Tionisio Hunt (Vaa o Fonoti)

Ministry of Revenue.

Papaliitele Niko Lee Hang (Urban East)

Ministry of Works, Transport and Infrastructure.

Loau Keneti Sio (Sagaga le Falefa)

Ministry of Education, Sports and Culture.

The Associate 

Ministers for 2016-2021

Ministry of the Prime Minister & Cabinet: Peseta Vaifou Tevaga

Ministry of Natural Resources & Environment: Taefu Lemi Taefu

Ministry of Commerce, Industry & Labour, Ministry of Public Enterprises: Tuifaasisina Lisati Leleisiuao

Ministry of Health: Salausa Dr. John Ah Ching

Ministry of Police & Prisons: Amituanai Fagaivalu Samu

Ministry of Finance: Mulipola Leiataua Laki

Ministry of Women, Community & Social Development: Tofa Li’o Foleni

Ministry of Agriculture & Fisheries: Faasootauloa Pati Taulapapa

Ministry of Communications & Information Technology: Lealailepule Rimoni Aiafi

Ministry of Justice & Courts Administration: Lenatai Victor Tamapua

Ministry of Revenue: Sooalo Feo Mene

Ministry of Works, Transport & Infrastructure: Seiuli Ueligitone Seiuli

Ministry of Education, Sports and Culture: Alai’asa Sepulona Moananu

By Diedre Fanene 27 March 2016, 12:00AM

Trending Stories

Samoa Observer

Upgrade to Premium

Subscribe to
Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy unlimited access to all our articles on any device + free trial to e-Edition. You can cancel anytime.