Seven new L.T.C. Judges to be sworn-in

Seven new Lands and Titles Court (L.T.C.) Judges will be sworn-in on Monday in the Supreme Court.

The Ministry of Justice and Courts Administration C.E.O., Moliei Simi Vaai, announced the appointments on Sunday in a press statement.

The new L.T.C. judges are: Afemaleta Tiavaasue Alesana Lafi, Feagaimaalii Nanai Malaelua Sua, Laulu Seuamuli Henry Taefu, Lealiiee Tuaimalo Asamu Ah Sam, Luafalealo Lilo Mikaele Tofete, Tuala Lepale Aveau Niko Palamo, and Tuloa Fetufou Aiono. 

They will be sworn-in at 10.00am in the Supreme Court Courtroom 1 at Mulinu’u.

According to Mrs Vaai, the Judicial Service Commission (J.S.C.) finalised the appointments of the new judges on December 16 after a comprehensive selection process.

“The selection and recommendation were made after completion of a robust recruitment process after receipt of 54 applications, an examination and an interview process,” she said in a statement.

The appointment of the new judges was endorsed by the Cabinet last Friday, she added.

The new judges will formally start work on Monday, January 6, 2020 and be inducted through a five-day training program for all L.T.C. judges starting Wednesday, January 8. 

The announcement of the appointment of the new judges follows the sacking of two judges and the non-renewal of the contract of a third judge, with the Prime Minister Tuilaepa Dr. Sa'ilele Malielegaoi revealing last month that public complaints over some decisions relating to L.T.C. matters led to their sacking.

Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?