Scotland unveils 23 for Samoa clash

Scotland have named their team to play Samoa on Monday night, and it includes five changes to the starting XV that lost 27-3 to Ireland in their World Cup opener.

It’s a brand new back row with Magnus Bradbury, Jamie Ritchie and Blade Thomson coming in for John Barclay, Hamish Watson and Ryan Wilson.

The 23 includes nine players (Willem Nel, Jonny Gray, Greg Laidlaw, Finn Russell, Sean Maitland, Stuart Hogg, Fraser Brown, Gordon Reid, Ryan Wilson) that lined up in Scotland’s 36-33 win over Samoa at the 2015 Rugby World Cup, including the oldest member of their squad Greg Laidlaw.

Laidlaw posted a career-high 26 points in that match in Newcastle, England, which Samoa led 26-23 at halftime.

The Manu ran them close in their previous encounter in 2017 as well, losing 44-38 at Murrayfield on the November tour that year.

The game kicks off at Kobe Misaki Stadium at 12:15 am Samoan time on Tuesday. 

The Scotland 23

1. Allan Dell
2. Stuart McInally (capt.)
3. Willem Nel
4. Grant Gilchrist
5. Jonny Gray
6. Magnus Bradbury
7. Jamie Ritchie
8. Blade Thomson
9. Greig Laidlaw
10. Finn Russell
11. Sean Maitland
12. Sam Johnson
13. Chris Harris
14. Darcy Graham
15. Stuart Hogg

16. Fraser Brown
17. Gordon Reid
18. Zander Fagerson
19. Scott Cummings
20. Ryan Wilson
21. George Horne
22. Adam Hastings
23. Duncan Taylor

Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?