Moment of silence honour former M.Ps

Parliament observed a minute of silence to honour the memory of fallen colleagues on Tuesday.

It happened at their makeshift base at Tuanaimato when it reconvened for the first time since the swearing in of this Parliamentary Term. 

The former M.Ps honoured included Vaeolenofoafia Tapasu Leung Wai, Tuala Falenaoti Tiresa and former Speaker, Leota Leuluaiali’i Ituau Ale. 

Prime Minister Tuilaepa Sailele Malielegaoi was not in attendance as he was in Papua New Guinea to attend an A.C.P meeting.

But Speaker of the House, Leaupepe Toleafoa Fa’afisi, called for the honour. He expressed his sympathies to the families of the former members, thanking them for their services to Samoa. 

He also asked the Assembly to observe a moment of silence to honour the M.Ps.

Vaeolenofofia was an M.P. for Aana Alofi No. 3 from 2006 to 2011. 

He was an Associate Minister for the Ministry of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. 

Tuala entered parliament on 14th May 1996 to 2001 as the M.P. for Gagaemauga no2. 

She was a member of parliamentary committees. 

Lastly was Leota Leulua’iali’i who served four parliamentary terms and he was also appointed the Speaker for one of those terms. 

Leota entered parliament in the year 1970 and lost his seat when he was unsuccessful in the 1996 general elections. 

Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?