Leififi College dominates school rugby tournament

By Adel Fruean 21 February 2019, 12:00AM

Leififi College dominated Zone A Regional Schools Sevens Tournament 2019 by winning both the Under 19 and Under 15 boys’ division yesterday. 

In the Zone A Girl’s Division for sevens rugby, Avele College’s Under 19 Sevens team dominated Aleipata College with 24-0 points and taking the crown as the champions.

Aleipata College took the title for Under 17 boys’ winners.

Zone A schools comprised: Aleipata College, Anoamaa College, Avele College, Falealili College, Leififi College, Lepa and Lotofaga College, Palalaua College, Papauta Girls College, Vaimauga College.

Robert Louis Stevenson College’s Under 17 girls’ team was the only one that showed up for Zone B. 

Maluafou College came first in the Under 15 boys’ division while Robert Louis Stevenson College took out the Under 17 boys’ division.

The Under 19 boys’ was won by Saint Joseph’s College with Church College of Pesega in second place.

Zone B schools include: Chanel College, Church College of Pesega, Faatuatua Christian College, Faleata College, Maluafou College, Robert Louis Stevenson College, Saint Joseph’s College, Saint Mary’s College. 

The Samoa Rugby Union acknowledged the various committees of each zone in coordinating the tournaments.

The Regional Zone tournaments is a qualification round, where the top two teams from each zone will advance to the National Schools Sevens Championship to be held in Savai’i on March 1 at Prince Edward Park - Iva and Puapua Primary School Field - Puapua Savaii. All regional zones will have both Girls and Boys age grade divisions. 

By Adel Fruean 21 February 2019, 12:00AM

Trending Stories

Samoa Observer

Upgrade to Premium

Subscribe to
Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy unlimited access to all our articles on any device + free trial to e-Edition. You can cancel anytime.