The four noble truths

175 Hits

Dear Editor,

Re: Seeking a new god

There are four noble truths to life: 

1. All life entails suffering

2. Suffering is caused by desire 

3. Desire can be overcome

4. To overcome desire one must follow the eight fold path


The eight-fold path says:

1. Right view

2. Right intention

3. Right speech 

4. Right action

5. Right livelihood

6. Right effort 

7. Right concentration 

8. Right meditation


These were the buddhas earlier teachings in what was referred to as the Hiniyana. Hiniyana in sanskrit is small vehicle or the lesser vehicle. Since hiniyana is a pejaroative many don’t like the term but that’s what it was called then.



© Samoa Observer 2016

Developed by Samoa Observer in Apia