England's Farrell escapes citing for shoulder-led tackle

AP
By Associated Press, 04 November 2018

LONDON (AP) — Co-captain Owen Farrell escaped a citing on Sunday for his shoulder-led tackle at the end of England's win over South Africa at Twickenham.

ADVERTISEMENT

World Rugby said there were no citings arising from the test following reviews, or from the Wales-Scotland and Ireland-Italy matches on Saturday.

Farrell is free to play for England against New Zealand next Saturday at Twickenham.

His controversial no-arms tackle stopped Andre Esterhuizen in the last move of the match. Australian referee Angus Gardner decided after video review that Farrell used enough arm and declined to give the Springboks a kickable penalty to win the match. England won 12-11.

AP
By Associated Press, 04 November 2018

Related Stories


Bg pattern top

Sign in for free to read more stories

Bg pattern light

UPGRADE TO PREMIUM

Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investgative articles.

Ready to signup?