World Rugby says TMO wrong to rule out Wales try vs England

AP
By Associated Press, 13 February 2018

CARDIFF, Wales (AP) — World Rugby says the television match official made an error in ruling out a try for Wales in its Six Nations rugby match against England on Saturday.

ADVERTISEMENT

The TMO ruled that Wales fullback Gareth Anscombe failed to ground the ball properly in an incident in the 23rd minute of the game at Twickenham.

The score at the time was 12-0 to England, which ended up winning 12-6.

Following a review, World Rugby said Tuesday it has "clarified to the Wales team management ... that the TMO made an error" and that "Wales should have been awarded a try as the Wales player grounded the ball."

Wales assistant coach Rob Howley said it was "disappointing" but that "there was plenty of time after that decision."

AP
By Associated Press, 13 February 2018

Related Stories


Bg pattern top

Sign in for free to read more stories

Bg pattern light

UPGRADE TO PREMIUM

Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investgative articles.

Ready to signup?