Parliament honours former Minister

Members of Parliament observed a minute of silence on Tuesday in honour of former Cabinet Minister, the late Leiataualesa Vaiao John Alailima. 

Leiataualesa was first elected in parliament as the Member of Parliament for Aiga ile Tai in 1988.

Speaker of the House, Leaupepe Toleafoa Fa’afisi conveyed his condolences to the family of Leiataualesa and his constituency.

He was 95 years old when he passed away peacefully in American Samoa. 

Born and raised in Gataivai Savai’I, Leiataualesa came from a big family of 22 sisters and brothers.   The former M.P. was a Minister of Justice, Labour and Public Service and a former Minister of Public Works. 

His other ministerial positions include Assistant Minister of Foreign Affairs and Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister before retiring from politics in 1996.  

He held three prominent high chief titles; the Amituana’i in Lotofaga, the Leiataualesa in Faleu Manono and Fuimaono from Salani.  

Following his retirement Leiataualesa went on to complete his research on “Our Ancestors”.  

During his time in parliament he had served his constituency through electrification of Manoo Island, securing 58 acres of land for Manono residents and construction of the main district wharf to name a few.  

The former Minister also sponsored many students from the district to attend Polytechnic and National university of Samoa.   Leiataua was married to renowned Pacific author the late Fay G Calkins of, “Aggie Grey, Samoan Saga” and the subject of her book “My Samoan Chief.”

Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?