Aiono re-appointed a Honorary Professor

National University of Samoa (N.U.S) Vice-Chancellor Aiono Professor Alec Ekeroma has been re-appointed a University of Otago Honorary Professor.

Aiono was a Professor at the University of Otago before taking up his current appointment as the N.U.S Vice-Chancellor since the beginning of 2020.

The announcement was made in an N.U.S statement issued on Wednesday night revealing that Aiono has been re-appointed as Honorary Professor in the Department of Obstetrics, Gynaecology and Women's Health until February 2024.

The University of Otago's Honorary Professor awards are offered to those employed by another University and are made to individuals who are leading academics in their field and will provide significant ongoing research contribution and partnership that will be of benefit to both the University of Otago and the N.U.S.

"We are proud to have our N.U.S Vice Chancellor (V.C) recognised for his dedicated academic leadership and significant contribution to the University of Otago in his chosen field," the N.U.S Pro Chancellor Letuimanu'asina Dr. Emma Kruse Vaai said in a statement.

According to the statement, Faumuina Professor Faafetai Sopoaga of the University of Otago said Aiono has the privileges associated with being a member of the University of Otago.

"This is afforded to a few select people from other institutions the University of Otago considers to be esteemed academic members with outstanding international reputation," Faumuina said in a statement.

Earlier this month, five N.U.S. academics were also recognised for their work towards teaching, service and research at the university.

Professor Penelope Schoeffel of the Center of Samoan Studies had been recognised for her academic leadership in developing postgraduate programmes in development studies, leading to international accreditation and her work in supervising PhD students supported by international grants, and including developing the Journal of Samoan Studies for the University.

Associate Professor Tuifuisaa Patila Amosa, Dean of the faculty of Science has been recognised for regional research leadership in climate change and effective administrative leadership and service to the University, and had also led innovative programmes in the field of science.

Other academics promoted to senior lectureship include Dr. Honiara Salanoa (Communication), Diana Betham Scanlan (English), and Jyothi Abraham (Nursing).

Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?