Toa Samoa retains Matt Parish as head coach

The Rugby League Samoa President Tagaloa Faafouina Su'a has announced on Tuesday that Matt Parish will be the one to take the Toa Samoa to the Rugby League World Cup in the United Kingdom later this year.

“Matt has been our head coach since 2013 and has helped strengthen our game on and off the field,” he said in a statement released on Tuesday.

"We are a proud nation with passionate rugby league fans and I have no doubt that the best years for Rugby League Samoa are ahead of us. 

"The Rugby League Samoa Board wishes Matt and the team every success as preparations continue for the World Cup later this year."

The Johns brothers, Mathew and Andrew have expressed their interest to hook up with dual code star Sonny Bill Williams, to coach the Samoan rugby league team at the 2021 World Cup.

“We would do it for nothing. Quite seriously, and Joey is the same, you wouldn’t take a cent. Sonny wouldn’t," Johns said according to Fox League.

“It would be a bit of three-way coaching. I don’t know how it would work, but in my opinion, Samoa should be emulating what Tonga is doing. 

"There should be a goal that within a couple of years Samoa should be beating Australia like Tonga has been doing. I want to be respectful because they do have a coach, but if something happens then Joey and I are available."

International Rugby League Chairman Troy Grant has added to the debate, saying that having the John brothers with Williams as coaches will be a good step up for Toa Samoa.

"To have an Immortal in Andrew Johns, the recognized skillset and football brains of Matthew Johns, and someone with Sonny Bill’s reputation in Samoa is a wonderful trifecta," he reportedly said. 

"I watched Matthew and Andrew when they were in the lower grades at the Knights right through to their peak so I have seen them first hand, and Sonny Bill Williams is an internationally renowned athlete as well."

Australian National Rugby League (N.R.L.) stars who could line up for Toa Samoa include: Spencer Leniu, Jarome Luai, Stephen Crichton, Brian To’o, Moses Leota, Tyrone May and Charlie Staines as well as Josh Papalii’i, Asofa Solomona, Tino Fa’asuamaleaui, Dylan Brown, Junior Paulo, Iosia Soliola, Dunamis Lui, Martin Taupau, Josh Aloiai, Jayden Su’a, Joey and Luciano Leilua, David Nofoaluma, Anthony Milford and Josh McGuire.

Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?