H.R.P.P. opens camp; thanks Samoa for their vote

By Tina Mata'afa-Tufele 13 April 2021, 10:00PM

The Human Rights Protection Party (H.R.P.P.) has opened camp at their ‘Maota i Petesa’ Headquarters in Sogi.

The camp was publicized on the H.R.P.P. Facebook page on Tuesday, 13 April, 2021; on day two of the official vote count by the Office of the Electoral Commission (O.E.C.). 

Photographs show caretaker Prime Minister Tuilaepa Dr. Sailele Malielegaoi and a number of H.R.P.P. members gathered in the hall of the headquarters for a prayer service. 

A caption that accompanies the photographs congratulates and thanks Samoa for their vote.

“Congratulations and thank you Samoa for your vote. (Fa'amalo ma Fa'afetai Samoa mo lau filifiliga.),” the H.R.P.P. page states.

“We return all praise and glory to God for the callings [He grants us]. (E foi pea le viiga ile Atua ona o ia e ana tofiga ma valaauina.)

It is not clear what night the party's camp opened, but members of the H.R.P.P. have been meeting at their headquarters since Sunday night. 

According to the picture caption, the prayer service was held on the first night of the H.R.P.P. camp after voters of Samoa had cast their ballots in the General Election.

A number of caretaker Cabinet Ministers are pictured at the camp opening prayer service including Minister of Health Faimalotoa Kika Stowers (Gagaifomauga No.1) and Minister of Commerce, Industry and Labour (M.C.I.L.), Lautafi Selafi Purcell (Satupaitea). Lautafi is also the Minister of Public Enterprises.

Minister of Works, Transportation and Infrastructure (M.W.T.I.) Tapunuu Niko Lee Hang (Vaimauga No.3), Minister of Education, Sports and Culture (M.E.S.C.) Loau Solamalemalo Keneti Sio (Sagaga No.1) and Associate Minister of Communications and Information Technology (M.C.I.T.) Lealailepule Rimoni Aiafi are also pictured.

Faimalotoa, Lautafi, Papalii and Loau are leading the races in their respective electoral constituencies.

Lealailepule won his seat for Faleata No.3 before polling began. He ran unopposed as did H.R.P.P. party leader Tuilaepa, Member of Parliament for Lepa.

Additional H.R.P.P. members captured in the photographs are: Sulamanaia Fetaiai Tuivasa who is leading the race for Vaimauga No.1; Lenatai Victor Tamapua who is leading in Vaimauga No.2; Lauofo Fonotoe Pierre who is leading in Anoamaa No.2, and former Electric Power Corporation (E.P.C.) boss Lupematasila Galumalemana Tologata Togia Tile who is leading the race in Falelatai ma Samatau.

The official counting of ballots commenced on Monday. 

Leads and placings in this news article are based on preliminary results provided by the O.E.C.

By Tina Mata'afa-Tufele 13 April 2021, 10:00PM

Trending Stories

Samoa Observer

Upgrade to Premium

Subscribe to
Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy unlimited access to all our articles on any device + free trial to e-Edition. You can cancel anytime.