Marist International Sevens kicks off

By Vaelei Von Dincklage 26 February 2021, 12:00AM

Excited rugby fans crowded Apia Park Stadium as the Marist 33rd International Sevens tournament kicked off at Apia Park Stadium on Friday morning. 

A total of 16 men’s teams and six women’s teams will all be taking the field for the tournament.

In the first round of the women’s division, defending champions Tepatasi and the S.C.B. Apia Maroons emerged victorious in clashes with Aiga Tau Jaws and No Idea.

For the men’s division defending champions B.B.E. Vaiala, Moataa, the S.C.B. Apia Maroons, Matniuel Laulii Lions, Tepatasi, Ott Constructor Tama Uli, Vailima Marist St Joseph’s, and Faleolo Jetz all walked away with wins following their first round clashes.

Lulumaivini Ulutogia, BSL Satalo, Nofoalii, AST SCOPA,  Pacific Ezy Safotu, SSAB Moamoa Roosters, Lupesiliva Sapaplii, and Malie Sharks with their first loss.

The second round is currently ongoing. 

The top two teams in their respective pools will secure their chance to compete for the title in the men’s division.

In the women’s division, by contrast, teams that come top of their respective pools will enter into play-offs for both the finals for the cup and title.

Rugby enthusiasts crowded the Apia Park Stadium to lend vocal support to their teams during Friday's hard-fought contests. 

The fans were blessed to be watching games not marred by bad weather. Despite very little sunshine, forecast periods of heavy downpour did not transpire during the first round and interfere with play. 

Players from the Manu Samoa 24 man squad featured across their clubs, but some of them were in the crowd because injuries prevented them from taking the field. 

Out of the three teams hailing from the big island, only Tama Uli scored a first-round win; Safotu and Lupesiliva were both bested by their opponents. 

The host team, Marist St. Joseph’s, emerged victorious from their first-round clash.

The results for the first round of the Marist International Sevens were as follows:

  • Tepatasi 10 – Aiga Tau Jaws 0 (women)
  • SCB Apia Maroons 24 – No Idea 5 (women)
  • BBE Vaiala 14 – Lulumaivini Ulutogia 12
  • BSL Satalo 0 – Moataa 17
  • SCB Apia Maroons 33 – Nofoalii 12
  • Matniuel Laulii Lions 19 – AST SCOPA 5
  • Tepatasi 15 – Pacific Ezy Safotu 0
  • Ott Constructor Tama Uli 27 – SSAB Moamoa Roosters 5
  • Vailima Marist St Joseph’s 17 – Malie Sharks 7
  • Lupesiliva Sapapalii 12 – Faleolo Jetz 38


By Vaelei Von Dincklage 26 February 2021, 12:00AM
Samoa Observer

Upgrade to Premium

Subscribe to
Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device.

Ready to signup?