Sailing season concludes with prize night

By Hyunsook Siutaia 21 December 2020, 4:00PM

A prize-giving to mark the end of the 2020 sailing season was held last Friday at the Apia Yacht Club.

Sailors, parents, volunteers and their families all gathered to celebrate the year's achievements.

A special note of thanks was extended by Commodore, Seiuli Ian Black, and the Yacht Club executive to the hardworking 2020 fleet-captain, Raema von Reiche.

The captain was singled out for her special contribution to the sport this year. 

Parents and volunteers who assisted sailors on Saturday sailing days were also acknowledged by Seiuli. 

"We especially thank our partners at the Maritime School, of the National University of Samoa for their representatives that volunteer," Seiuli said.

"We acknowledge your valuable contribution to sailing development at the Apia Yacht Club.

"We also acknowledge our kind and generous Corporate  Sponsors, who have helped us develop Sailing further this year, especially enabling few local sailors to take up Sailing lessons this year.

"[We especially thank] our major partners for these past two years: Transam Samoa, the Hogarth family, the Taula Beverage Company, [and the] National Bank of Samoa. 

"Your sponsorship has enabled the Apia Yacht Club to develop sailing further, and also has given others an opportunity they may not have had." 

End of sailing season 2020 prize-giving results:

Presentations done by Commodore ( Ian Black,) Vice Commodore ( Derek Rasmussen, Past Commodore ( Paul Davies) , Vice Patron (Ainslie Ferenczy ),  & Member ( Carolyn Brewer)

First Place : Leisina Rasmussen
Second Place : Xavier Rasmussen
Third Place : Tyra Betham  

First Place :  Sumner Rasmussen
Second Place : Osana Selu Patrick
Third Place : Elizabeth Rasch

First Place :      Filemoni Paialii Afe and PosesionePosesione  
Perpetual Trophy  donated by Luana von Reiche
Second Place :   Melvin GROEN &  Anthony (Tony) Brewer
Third Place :   Rachel Boyer and Ina Vaafusuaga

Tyra Betham : Most Improved Optimist Female Sailor 
Alex Meredith : Most Improved Optimist Male Award
Perpetual  Trophy : Betham & Meredith have jointly won the Michael Rose Memorial Trophy      
Osana Selu Patrick :  Most Improved Laser Sailor  ( Male )   ( Awarded the Perpertual Trophy donated by Sails at Mulinu'u
Ocean Seumanutafa :  Most Improved Laser Sailor ( Female )
Perpetual Trophy : Donated by Leilua family
Melvin Groen :   Most improved Hobie Male
Rachel Boyer  :  Most Improved Hobie Female

A crucial milestone for development of Sailing in Samoa : 
WORLD SAILING & Samoa Sailing Association  : Level 2 , 2020
INSTRUCTORS Certificates :    Awarded to 

Benjamin Hansell and Vaimooia Ripley    

Best Race Committee:  Karleen Rasmussen , Elena Tusitala, Lyvia Black, Helen Seumanutafa
Best All Rounder: Tony Brewer
Best Safety Boat & Mark Boat:  Derek Rasmussen
Safety Boat: Acknowledgement to : Ray & Eyring of NUS Maritime School Seumanutafa
Captain of  Gaualofa Capt. Karl Steffany
Quiet Achiever Award: Bella Rasch

Fleet Captain Award:   
Awarded to Sailor Leisina Rasmussen
Commodore’s Award:
Awarded to Sailor Posesione Posesione

By Hyunsook Siutaia 21 December 2020, 4:00PM

Trending Stories

Samoa Observer

Upgrade to Premium

Subscribe to
Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy unlimited access to all our articles on any device + free trial to e-Edition. You can cancel anytime.