Samoa's Jawsh685 an award recipient

The Aotearoa Music Awards was held on Sunday night at the Spark Arena where many Pacific Artists were awarded coveted Tui awards.

Samoan superstar, Jawsh685, whose real name is Joshua Nanai, was a first time nominee who was awarded two Tui's for the Spotify Breakthrough Artist of the Year and was the second recipient of the International Achievement Award. 

He had also performed a Samoa remix of his global hit with Jason Derulo "Savage love" on the night and was joined by his high school friends on stage. 

In his interview with RNZ, he said that he was excited by the support of his family and friends. The crowd was cheering his name and he stated he is still not used to the cheering. 

"I’m not used to it obviously but I like it. It’s solid when everyone’s cheering. It’s a blessing," he said 

“The whole experience with cameras everywhere is still new to me and I’m still getting used to it. I love it and glad having my family and friends around to support. That’s why I like having people around there to love me.” 

Jawsh685 also known as Joshua Nanai is done with school this year but he said that he'll continue to make beats and keep visiting his teachers at school. 

Aotearoa Music Awards 2020 List of winners:

1. Te Pukaemi o te Tau | Album of the Year

  • WINNER: The Beths – Jump Rope Gazers
  • L.A.B – L.A.B III
  • Nadia Reid – Out Of My Province
  • Reb Fountain – Reb Fountain
  • Six60 – Six60
  • Tami Neilson – Chickaboom!

2. Te Waiata Tōtahi o te Tau | Single of the Year

  • WINNER: BENEE – ‘Supalonely’
  • Drax Project ft Six60 – ‘Catching Feelings’
  • Jawsh685 – ‘Savage Love’
  • L.A.B – ‘In The Air’
  • Six60 – ‘Please Don’t Go’
  • Troy Kingi – ‘All Your Ships Have Sailed

3. Te Roopu Toa | Best Group

  • WINNER: The Beths – Jump Rope Gazers 
  • L.A.B. – L.A.B. III
  • Miss June – Bad Luck Party
  • Six60 – Six60

4. Te Kaipuoro Takitahi Toa | Best Solo Artist

  • WINNER: BENEE – Stella & Steve
  • JessB – New Views
  • Nadia Reid – Out Of My Province
  • Reb Fountain – Reb Fountain

5. Te Kaituhura Puoro Toa o te Tau | Breakthrough Artist of the Year

  • WINNER: Jawsh685
  • Paige

6. Te Māngai Pāho Te Kaipuoro Māori Toa | Best Māori Artist

  • WINNER: Maimoa
  • Ria Hall
  • Stan Walker

7. Te Kaipuoro Arotini Toa | Best Pop Artist

  • Paige
  • Six60

8. Te Kaipuoro Manohi Toa | Best Alternative Artist

  • WINNER: The Beths
  • Mermaidens
  • Reb Fountain

9. Te Kaipuoro Awe Toa | Best Soul/RnB Artist

  • WINNER: Haz & Miloux
  • Lepani
  • Stan Walker

10. Te Kaipuoro Hipihope Toa | Best Hip Hop Artist

  • WINNER: Church & AP
  • choicevaughan
  • Raiza Biza

11. Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa | Best Roots Artist

  • Lomez Brown
  • Ria Hall

12. Te Māngai Pāho Mana Reo Award

  • WINNER: Mōhau
  • Maimoa
  • Six60

13. Te Kaipuoro Tāhiko Toa | Best Electronic Artist

  • WINNER: Lee Mvtthews
  • State of Mind
  • Truth

14. Te Kaipuoro Rakapioi Toa | Best Rock Artist

  • WINNER: City of Souls
  • Devilskin
  • Villainy

15. Te Kaipuoro Kairangi Toa | Best Worship Artist

  • WINNER: Mōhau
  • Kane Adams
  • Te Rautini

16. Te Kaipuoro Inamata Toa | Best Classical Artist

  • WINNER: Andrew Beer & Sarah Watkins
  • Klara Kollektiv
  • Matthew Marshall

17. Te Kōwhiri o te Nuinga | People’s Choice Award

  • L.A.B

18. Tohu Whakareretanga | Recorded Music NZ Legacy Award

  • Johnny Cooper
  • Max Merritt
  • Peter Posa, Dinah Lee
  • The Chicks and Larry’s Rebels

19. Te Toa Hoko Teitei | Highest Selling Artist

  • Drax Project ft. Six60

20. Te Rikoata Marakerake o te Tau | NZ On Air Radio Airplay Record of the Year

  • Drax Project

21. Tohu Tutuki o te Ao | Recorded Music NZ International Achievement

  • Jawsh685

Additional Tuis presented in 2019

22. Te Kaipuoro Taketake Toa | Best Folk Artist

  • Winner: Mel Parsons – Glass Heart
  • Victoria Vigenser & Lindsay Martin – The Gap
  • Paper Cranes – Voices

23. Te Pukaemi Toa o Te Moana Nui a Kiwa | Best Pacific Music Album

  • Winner: Olivia Foa’I – Candid
  • Church & AP – Teeth

24. Te Kaipuoro Tuawhenua Toa | Best Country Artist

  • Winner: Delaney Davidson & Barry Saunders – Word Gets Around
  • Katie Thompson – Bittersweet
  • Kendall Elise – Red Earth

25. Recorded Music NZ Te Kaipuoro Tautito Toa | Best Jazz Artist

  • Winner: Dixon Nacey – The Edge Of Chaos
  • Michal Martyniuk – Resonate

26. Te Kaipuoro Waiata Tamariki Toa | Best Children’s Artist

  • Winner: Anika Moa – Songs For Bubbas 3
  • Captain Festus McBoyle
  • Chris Sanders

Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?