Fiame among three uncontested seats in general election

By Matai'a Lanuola Tusani T - Ah Tong 24 October 2020, 3:00PM

Three candidates will run unopposed in next years's General Elections, according to the latest information provided by the Office of the Electoral Commissioner. 

They include former Deputy Prime Minister, Fiame Naomi Mata’afa, the Minister of Education, Sports and Culture, Loau Keneti Sio and the Associate Minister of Communications and Information Technology, Lealailepule Rimoni Aiafi.

At 12 o’clock noon on Friday a total of 200 candidates including 23 females have had their nomination approved by the Office of the Electoral Commissioner. 

From the ruling Human Rights Protection Party, there are 114 candidates running under their banner, 50 from Fa’atuatua ile Atua Samoa ua Tasi, 14 from Tautua Samoa Party and 15 Independent. 

The Sovereign Independent Samoa has one candidate and there are six candidates from Samoa First. 

Fiame who is a veteran M.P. for Lotofaga has registered to run as an independent candidate. 

However, the former Minister of the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment announced that she endorses the F.A.S.T. party following her nomination this week. 

In a recent statement she said she registered as an independent for the major reason to protect her constituency’s seat and for her to continue to serve until the end of the term. 

She added that she wishes to make meaningful contribution when the Constitution Amendment Bill 2020, the Land and Titles Court Bill 2020 and Judicature Bill 2020 is debated in parliament.  

A founding member of the H.R.P.P., Fiame resigned from her ministerial position due to publicly objecting to the three bills that proposed an overhaul to the judiciary system. 

Prior to leaving Cabinet, she had also criticised the electoral law from the Government that received a firing warning from Prime Minister, Tuilaepa Dr. Sailele Malielegaoi in parliament.

Tuilaepa had retorted at Fiame demanding that anyone that does not agree with him should resign from Cabinet.

On the other hand, the Minister of Education Loau is a former Manu Samoa rugby player. 

He successful won the Sagaga le Falefa seat in the 2016 General Election against former M.P. Tuisa Tasi Patea. 

Associate Minister Lealailepule has held the Faleata seat for several terms. 

He was a founder of the former opposition party the Tautua Samoa before he switched his allegiance in the 2016 to run under the H.R.P.P. banner. 

In 2008 Leala together with 12 other former M.Ps registered as independent M.Ps to avoid by-election on changing parties.    

It wasn’t until 2010 that a by-election was triggered where he was defeated by Ale Vena Ale. 


By Matai'a Lanuola Tusani T - Ah Tong 24 October 2020, 3:00PM

Trending Stories

Samoa Observer

Upgrade to Premium

Subscribe to
Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy unlimited access to all our articles on any device + free trial to e-Edition. You can cancel anytime.