Stage set for Vodafone Iva Savai'i Sevens

The stage is set for the Vodafone Iva Savai'i Sevens 2020 at Prince Edward Park at Iva on Friday and Saturday.

Thirty two of the best men's Sevens team in the country will lock horns in the 12th instalment of the tournament. Six teams will battle it out in the women's competition.

Tournament director, Reverend Tonu Mauafu, said they are looking forward to the contest, with the Iva White Lions ready to make their village proud.

"This is an annual event, it started in 2009," says Rev Tonu.

"We started out as a small kind of tournament where few rugby clubs participated but this year it has become a national tournament and it is an exciting event for us because 32 men's team have confirmed their participation and 6 women's team. This year is the third year since we decided to let the women into our tournaments."

He said the tournament was established to develop rugby talents in Savai'i.

"It has contributed a lot in the development of the Savaii rugby players," he said. 

"You know, it is great to have such a tournament in our own backyard which can contribute a lot not only to the development of our local players but to build up each player's talent and skills. 

"Having these tournaments in Savaii is a big help not only for our players but also our spectators, they will have time to watch their own sons, brothers, nephews, husbands, and their team plays in front of them."

He added that the Sevens landscape in Samoa has changed a lot. Before, people would only hear of Marist, SCOPA, Moata'a, Vaiala and Apia.

But that has changed with teams like Tama Uli, Tepatasi, Lulumaivini, Lauli'i and Vailele increasingly dominating the tournaments.  

"We can see how other teams are now coming up and reaching those levels, but I'm happy that somehow Savaii teams are also up there too. But don't forget the Iva White Lions will not back down either," he laughed.

The Prince Edward Park in Iva and the Sapapalii field are now set for the Vodafone Iva Savaii sevens. 

The tournament format is for the two-day event is it kicks off at 8:00 am and the men's competition will be played in 8 x Pools of 4 teams. The top 2 teams from each pool will advance to the Play-offs. The first ranked team will proceed to the Cup Quarter-finals, while the 2nd ranked team will proceed to the 9th Place Quarter-Finals.

For the women's competition, it will be played in 2 x Pools of 3 teams. After pool play, the 3rd ranked team will proceed to the 5th Place Final. The 2nd ranked team will proceed to the 3rd Place Final, while the 1st ranked team will advance to the Women's Cup Final.

The Samoa Rugby Union (SRU) acknowledged Rev Tonu and his Iva White Lions Sports Club for organizing and hosting another edition of their annual sevens tournament.

"Faamalo to Tournament Director Reverend Tonu Mauafu and his Iva White Lions Rugby Club organizing committee for hosting yet another edition of the Vodafone Iva Savaii 7s tournament. The tournament has served well in the club's commitment over the last 12 years to provide a platform for young rugby talent in the Big Island to showcase their wares by testing their mettle against perennial clubs and players from across the ditch," states the SRU press release.

Last year's champions Aana Chiefs will travel to Savaii this weekend to defend their title along with last year's finalist Tama Uli - Salelologa.

The reigning champion of the Vodafone National seven series is amongst the teams who will be challenging the Vodafone Iva Savaii sevens cup.

The pools have already been set and are as follows:

Men's team :

Pool A

  • Aana Chiefs
  • Faifaiaso - Vailoa Palauli
  • Patamea
  • Vaovai

Pool B:

  • Tama Uli - Salelologa
  • Tama o le Felela
  • Fasitoo Uta 
  • Vailele

Pool C:

  • Tepatasi
  • Lalomalava Maroons
  • Nofoalii
  • Iva White Lions B

Pool D:

  • Laulii Lions
  • Pacific Ezy Safotu
  • Amoa Sign Studio Faga
  • Pineula Salani

Pool E:

  • Saasaai
  • St Pierre Malotau
  • Gataivai
  • Vailima Marist St Josephs

Pool F:

  • Lupe Siliva Sapapalii
  • Faala Broncos
  • Laoso Lepa

Pool G:

  • Lulumaivini Ulutogia
  • Taga Blowholes
  • Laifoni - Vaitoomuli
  • Malie Sharks

Pool H:

  • Tanoa Samoa Tufulele
  • Iva White Lions
  • Apia Maroons
  • Vaalele o le Sami

Women's team 

Pool A:

  • Taga Blowholes
  • Tepatasi
  • St Pierre Malotau

Pool B:

  • Iva White Lions
  • Apia Maroons

Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?