H.R.P.P. candidates lineup for election

With the countdown continuing ahead of next year's General Election, the Human Rights Protection Party (H.R.P.P.) has partly revealed a colourful and strong line up.

During a meeting at the H.R.P.P. headquarters at Petesa, Prime Minister, Tuilaepa Dr. Sa'ilele Malielegaoi, confirmed 120 election candidates, including 11 women. 

Among the candidates are former Members of Parliament, former long-serving government officials, business owners and some newcomers.

Former Chief Executive Officer for the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment, Suluimalo Amataga Penaia, is among the newcomers. He is vying for the Aleipata Itupa Luga seat currently occupied by Amituanai Fagaivalu Kenrick. 

Another M.N.R.E. former boss, Ulu Bismarck Crawley, is also contesting from the newly defined seat of Faleata No. 4, up against former M.P. and Public Service Commissioner, Ale Vena Ale.

Former A.C.E.O. for the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries, Lupeomanu Pelenato Fonoti is running from Falealili No. 2 constituency. 

His colleague who is also former A.C.E.O. M.A.F., Aiolupotea Tony Leleisiuao, has also signed up to run. 

Aiolupotea will be running against his brother and incumbent M.P. for Palauli No. 3 and Associate Minister for the Ministry of Public Enterprises, Tuifa’asisina Misa Lisati. 

Former Board of Director for the Samoa International Finance Agency, Tu’u’u Amaramo Sialaoa, will be running from the Siumu seat. 

He will be competing against former M.P. Tu’u’u Anasi’i Leota, Tupuola Siaosi Hunt, Afoa Fetulima Nonu, Mano Ioelu and Incumbent M.P. Fa’alogo Iosefa Sopi.

Another interesting switch is the former M.P. for Vaisigano No. 1, Tufuga Gafoa Faitua changing constituency to run from Vaimauga No. 1 under his Maposua title. 

There is also Leota Tima Leavai, the daughter of long-serving opposition Member of Parliament, Aeau Peniamina Leavaise’eta.

Leota's candidacy was announced by Tuilaepa alongside rival Soia Sefo Kalolo for the Falealupo seat. 

A businessman that has also thrown his name in the hat is the owner of Millenia Hotel, Tuala Oli Ah Him. 

A former President of the Samoa Hotels Association, Tuala will be competing with Minister of Tourism, Sala Fata Pinati for the Sagaga No. 3 constituency. 

Newcomer and owner of his own OlaFou Medical Clinic, Peauala Dr. Titi Lamese, has also registered his name under H.R.P.P. for the Gagaifomauga No. 2 seat. 

He will be running against Associate Minister and Incumbent M.P., So’oalo Mene. 

As for current M.Ps, the Anoama’a No. 1 seat will be contested by current H.R.P.P. Whip and M.P. Alai’asa Sepulona Moananu and Minister of Revenue, Tialavea Tionisio Hunt.
Some of the H.R.P.P. candidates after registration

Tialavea who currently occupies by the Va’a Fonoti seat is forced to contest from the Anoama’a No. 1 seat following new divisions to several electoral constituencies.  

Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?