Date set for public servants election candidates to resign

Public servants who intend to run for office in the 2021 General Election are required to resign from their positions when they declare their nomination in October. 

This was confirmed by Electoral Commissioner, Faimalomatumua Mathew Lemisio. 

The Electoral Office calendar notes that the nomination of candidates is open from 12 October to 23 October 2020. 

Under the Electoral Act 2019 section 12, it states that a public servant who does not resign pursuant to subsection 1 is taken to have resigned from the date of filing his or her nomination. 

The Electoral Law says a Government officer means a judge of any Court, a police officer, prison officer, Member of other disciplined force or any uniformed branch of any defence force established by law. 

Members of any Government Board, Commission, Committee, Corporation or Council or a person employed by a public body pursuant to Public Bodies Act are described in the act as public officers. 

Registration of candidates for the Human Rights Protection Party in the past months has revealed several heads of Government Ministries throwing their names in the hat to contest in the election. 

Some of those officials include the Chief Executive Officers for the Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment, Ulu Bismarck Crawley, Electric Power Corporation C.E.O., Tologata Tile Tuimalealiifano. 

Others include Commissioner of Fire Emergency and Services Authority, Lelevaga Fa’afouina Mupo, Ministry of Health A.C.E.O., Mae’e Ualesi Silva and A.C.E.O. for Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries, Aiolupotea Toni Leleisiuao and others.



Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?