Argentina and South Africa both change 1 for rematch

By Associated Press 24 August 2018, 12:00AM

BUENOS AIRES, Argentina (AP) — Argentina and South Africa both made one change to their starting teams for their Rugby Championship rematch on Saturday.

Both switches were in the second row.

For his second test in charge, Argentina coach Mario Ledesma promoted lock Tomas Lavanini to the starting lineup in place of Matias Alemanno, who was dropped to the bench.

The Pumas also made another three changes on the bench following the 34-21 loss to the Springboks in Durban last weekend.

Hooker Facundo Bosch, scrumhalf Tomas Cubelli and center Jeronimo de la Fuente were brought in by Ledesma with Diego Fortuny, Martin Landajo and Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias out of the 23.

Springboks coach Rassie Erasmus recalled lock Franco Mostert to his starting 15. Mostert, off a long Super Rugby season with the Lions, was rested in Round 1 of the championship in Durban.

He will team up with Eben Etzebeth in the second row for Saturday's game in Mendoza. With Mostert starting, Pieter-Steph du Toit will be on the bench in place of flanker Marco van Staden. Erasmus made two other changes on the bench, with lock RG Snyman in for Marvin Orie and prop Wilco Louw replacing Thomas du Toit.

The coaches kept changes to a minimum in Thursday's team selections.

"I want us to build more continuity and those combinations now have another opportunity to play together and gain more experience," Erasmus said.

Argentina has been tough opposition for the Springboks in Mendoza, a city in the foothills of the Andes. The first game between them in 2012 was a 16-16 draw and the Springboks won narrowly, 22-17, in 2013.


Argentina: Emiliano Boffelli, Bautista Delguy, Matias Moroni, Bautista Ezcurra, Ramiro Moyano, Nicolas Sanchez, Gonzalo Bertranou; Javier Ortega Desio, Marcos Kremer, Pablo Matera, Tomas Lavanini, Guido Petti, Juan Figallo, Agustin Creevy (captain), Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro. Reserves: Facundo Bosch, Santiago Garcia Botta, Santiago Medrano, Matias Alemanno, Tomas Lezana, Tomas Cubelli, Jeronimo de la Fuente, Juan Cruz Mallia.

South Africa: Willie le Roux, Makazole Mapimpi, Lukhanyo Am, Andre Esterhuizen, Aphiwe Dyantyi, Handre Pollard, Faf de Klerk; Warren Whiteley, Siya Kolisi (captain), Francois Louw, Franco Mostert, Eben Etzebeth, Frans Malherbe, Malcolm Marx, Tendai Mtawarira. Reserves: Bongi Mbonambi, Steven Kitshoff, Wilco Louw, RG Snyman, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Embrose Papier, Lionel Mapoe, Damian Willemse.

By Associated Press 24 August 2018, 12:00AM

Trending Stories

Samoa Observer

Upgrade to Premium

Subscribe to
Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy unlimited access to all our articles on any device + free trial to e-Edition. You can cancel anytime.