An oath to serve

The new members of the Council of Deputies, Tuiloma Pule Lameko and Le Mamea Ropati Mualia, have vowed to serve Samoa honestly and to the best of their abilities.

The vow was made before Chief Justice, His Honour Patu Tiava’asu'e Falefatu Sapolu, at the T.A.T.T.E Building. 

Caretaker Speaker, La'aulialemalietoa Leuatea Polataivao, 
Heather Tupea, Maiava Elisa and Le Mamea Ropati

Their vows were followed later by the swearing in of 13 Chief Executive Officers of government ministries, administered by the Head of State, His Highness Tui Atua Tupua Tamasese Efi.

Hundreds of relatives, government officials and members of the diplomatic corps attended the ceremony yesterday.

Caretaker Prime Minister, Tuilaepa Sailele Malielegaoi congratulated the new members of the Council of Deputies and C.E.Os for accepting their new callings. 

He reminded that all appointments are from God. 

“I would like to firmly say that each one of us was deliberately planned, specifically gifted, and rightfully positioned to our respective calling,” said Tuilaepa. 

Tima Leavai, Perelini Tuiloma, Tuiloma Pule Lameko and
Maryanne Lameko - Vaai

“These God given gifts are to be used in the best interest of the people we serve. Each one of us has a contribution to provide service to our people in a unique way and that motivation is the key that opens the doors to these services.”

Tuilaepa urged the appointees to believe in themselves and make a difference. 

“There are numerous challenges along the way,” he said.  

“My Council please do not give up. When the road appears to be long, don’t take shortcuts. When you fall get back up…when the night is pitch black do not quit for God watches over us and only he can judge.”

In response, Tuiloma expressed his gratitude for the appointment.


The other appointments that were sworn in includes:

• Tua’imalo Asamu Ah Sam, C.E.O. for Ministry of Communications and Information Technology

• Peseta Noumea Simi, C.E.O of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade

• Professor Lau Asofou So’o, Vice Chancellor of the National University of Samoa

• Unutoa Auelua–Fonoti, Head of the Office of the Regulator

• Elita To’oala, C.E.O  of the Ministry of Public Enterprises

• Lavea Iulai Lavea, C.E.O of the Ministry of Finance

• Avalisa Viali Fautuaalii, C.E.O of the Ministry of Revenue

• Su’a Poumulinuku Onesemo, C.E.O of the Ministry of Works, Transport and Infrastructure

• Peseta Margaret Malua, C.E.O of the Ministry of Commerce Industry and Labour, 

• Karoline Afamasaga Fuatai, C.E.O of the Ministry of Education, Sports and Culture

• Papali’i John Taimalelagi Afele, C.E.O of the Ministry of Justice and Courts Administration

• Naea Beth Onesemo-Tuilaepa, C.E.O of the Ministry of Women, Community and Social Development 

• Agafili Shem Leo, C.E.O of the Ministry of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. 


Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?