Auckland MSJ creates history

Auckland Marist St. Joseph’s created history on a couple of fronts at Apia Park last night.

Not only did they become the first New Zealand team to win the coveted trophy after 28 years of the tournament, the result last night was probably the only time a finalist has been kept scoreless.

Auckland MSJ proved far too good defeating a valiant Vaiala outfit, 33-0.

They scored five unanswered tries to secure the win. Two came from the tournament’s top try scorer Eddie Fidow while Vuga Tagicakibau; Joe Ravouvou and Savelio Ropati contributed with a try apiece.

The rainy weather and the muddy field played into the hands of Auckland MSJ who were more accustomed to the conditions.

But their road to the final had involved beating Apia Maroons in the quarter finals and beating Moata’a in the semis.

For their efforts, Auckland Marist won $15,000.

Captain Orion Keil was thrilled with their victory

“This is the happiest moment of my life,” Keil said.

“Our goal has been reached which was to become the first team from New Zealand to win the Vailima Marist Cup. When you achieve a goal it’s a mission accomplished.”

But Keil said it wasn’t easy getting there 

“This tournament was really hard and we knew that which is why we worked really hard back in Auckland,” Keil said. 

“We brought some Samoan talent from New Zealand so hopefully some of them make the selection but we will be back next year to defend the cup.”

Fale Sooialo, captain of Vaiala B.B.E, was graceful in defeat.

 “The game was tough but we made a few silly mistakes on the field which cost us. Having said that, these guys from Auckland were really good. Congratulations.”

Vaiala won $5,000.

Cup finalists of last year Moata’a and Vailima St. Josephs battled it out for 3rd and 4th with Moata’a winning 21-7

At the end of the night the Spoon went home with Vailima Saints; the bowl left in the hands of Vaitoomuli; Sasaai took the shield and the Plate was claimed by Lauli’i Lions.



Spoon Finals: Vailima Marist Saints 34-7 Magiagi

Shield Finals: Afaluko RAS 5-10 Vaitoomuli

Bowl Finals: SCOPA 0-10 Sasaai

Plate Finals: Vailele 7-10 Laulii Lions

Cup Finals: Auckland Marist St. Joseph 33-0 Vaiala

Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?