Wesley College tops Zone D School’s Rugby 15s

Wesley College reigned supreme during the Zone D Secondary Schools 15’s Rugby competition on Friday last week.

They defeated arch rivals, Leulumoega Fou College, 12-3 in the finals.

The competition, held at the Wesley College grounds at Faleula, kicked off their final round of competition.

Leulumoega Fou College scooped the first spot for the Under-19 Girls competition, defeating Aana No 1 College 21-8. They also defeated Safata College to claim the Under-17 boys’ title. 

Nu’uausala College claimed the Under-15 division after defeating Lefaga College 13-10 at fulltime. 

After five weeks of competition, the Zone D  top two teams from each division have been finalised and qualify for the 2018 National Secondary Schools Rugby Championship to be held on the 16th, 18th and 20th of April 2018 at Apia Park.

Nu’uausala College and Lefaga College will represent the Zone D schools in the Under-15 division, Leulumoega Fou College and Safata College in the Under-17 division, while Wesley College and Leulumoega Fou College in the Under-19 boys division.

Leulumoega Fou College and Aana No 1 College will represent their Zone in the girls division.


Qualified Teams from Zone A

Under15s Boys:

Samoa Collage (Zone A U15s Champions and Shield Holders)

Avele College (Runner Up)


Under17s Boys:

Avele Collage (Zone A U17s Champions and Shield Holders)

Leififi College (Runner Up)


Under19s Boys:

Vaimauga Collage (Zone A U19s Champions and Shield Holders)

Leififi College (Runner Up)


Qualified Teams from Zone B

Under15s Boys

Saint Joseph’s Collage (Champions)

Maluafou College (Runner Up)


Under17s Boys

Saint Joseph’s Collage (Champions)

Robert Louis Stevenson School (Runner Up)


Under19s Boys

Saint Joseph’s College (Champions

Maluafou College (Runner Up)

Qualified Teams from Zone D


Under15s Boys:

Nuuausala Collage (U15s Champions)

Lefaga College (Runner Up)


Under17s Boys:

Leulumoega Fou College (U17s Champions)

Safata College (Runner Up)


Under19s Girls

Leulumoega Fou College (Girls U19s Champions)

Aana No.1 College (Runner Up)


Under19’s Boys

Wesley Collage (U19s Champions)

Leulumoega Fou College (Runner Up)


Qualified Teams from Zone C (Savaii)

Under15s Boys

Itu o Tane Collage (U15s Champions)

Palauli College (Runner Up)


Under17s Boys

Amoa College (U17s Champions)

Church College of Vaiola (Runner Up)


Under19s Girls:

Palauli i Sisifo College (Girls U19s Champions)

Palauli College (Runner Up)


Under19s Boys:

Itu o Tane Collage (U19s Champions)

Uesiliana College (Runner Up)

Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?