Dubai to open 2016-17 IRB Sevens season in December

26 May 2016, 12:00AM

Fiji will begin defense of its IRB world sevens title on Dec. 2-3 when the opening tournament of the 10-round, 2016-17 season is held at Dubai, followed a week later at Cape Town.

The Fijians clinched their second consecutive series championship last weekend by advancing to the quarterfinals of the London Sevens, which featured Scotland's first tournament title. Fiji will be favorites at the inaugural rugby sevens tournament at the Rio de Janeiro Olympics in August.

World Rugby said in a statement Wednesday that the third round will be held at Wellington, New Zealand (Jan. 28-29) followed a week later in Sydney. Other rounds will be held in Las Vegas (March 3-5), Vancouver (March 11-12), Hong Kong (April 8-9), Singapore (April 15-16), Paris (May 13-14) and London (May 20-21).

26 May 2016, 12:00AM

Trending Stories

Samoa Observer

Upgrade to Premium

Subscribe to
Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy unlimited access to all our articles on any device + free trial to e-Edition. You can cancel anytime.