McCoy, Law, Froome among UK sports stars honored by Queen

By Admin Peršon 03 January 2016, 12:00AM

LONDON (AP) — Jockey Tony McCoy, former Manchester United striker Denis Law, two-time Tour de France winner Chris Froome, and five-time world snooker champion Ronnie O'Sullivan are among United Kingdom sporting figures honored by Queen Elizabeth in her New Year list.

McCoy, who retired this year after winning 20 straight British champion jockey titles and a record 4,358 races in a 23-year career, was knighted in recognition of his services to horse racing. He is only the second jockey to be made a Sir, after Gordon Richards in 1953.

The 75-year-old Law, who played for United from 1962-73 and was part of the club's so-called "Holy Trinity" with George Best and Bobby Charlton, was made a Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) for services to football and charity.

Froome was made an Officer of the Order of the British Empire after becoming the first Briton to win a second Tour de France in July.

O'Sullivan also was awarded an OBE in recognition for his services to snooker, having won the world championship five times — most recently in 2013 — and become the sport's box-office name.

The success of the England women's football team in finishing third at the World Cup in Canada this year was recognized as captain Steph Houghton and teammate Fara Williams were both made a Member of the Order of the British Empire.

John Surtees, the only man to win world championships on two and four wheels, was made a CBE. The 81-year-old Surtees won seven world motorcycling championships before switching to four wheels and winning the 1964 Formula One title.

Heather Rabbatts, a director at England's Football Association who became the organization's first female board member in 2012, was awarded a damehood for services to football and equality. As a campaigner on behalf of women in sport, she recently spoke out in support of former Chelsea doctor Eva Carneiro in her dispute with the club.

Former Manchester City striker and chairman Francis Lee received a CBE, while ex-England rugby winger Mark Cueto and IBF super-bantamweight boxing champion Carl Frampton were awarded MBEs.

Britain's honors are bestowed by the monarch, but recipients are selected by committees of civil servants from nominations made by the government and the public.

By Admin Peršon 03 January 2016, 12:00AM

Trending Stories

Samoa Observer

Upgrade to Premium

Subscribe to
Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy unlimited access to all our articles on any device + free trial to e-Edition. You can cancel anytime.