Daley picks 5 uncapped players for New South Wales squad

New South Wales has included five uncapped players in the 19-man squad for the annual State of Origin series against Queensland, with South Sydney halfback Adam Reynolds likely to get his first start in new halves pairing with recalled five-eighth James Maloney.

Maloney, who has not played in the Origin series since 2013, has helped steer Cronulla to the top of the National Rugby League standings and earned selection ahead of Mitchell Pearce and Trent Hodkinson, who were overlooked.

Matt Moylan, Dylan Walker, Tyson Frizell and Josh Mansour were also selected for the first time. Coach Laurie Daley announced the squad on Monday, with two players to be cut for the series-opener on June 1.

The Blues have lost nine of the past 10 series.

New South Wales squad: Greg Bird, Boyd Cordner, Josh Dugan, Blake Ferguson, Andrew Fifita, Tyson Frizell, Paul Gallen, Josh Jackson, Michael Jennings, David Klemmer, James Maloney, Josh Mansour, Josh Morris, Matt Moylan, Adam Reynolds, James Tamou, Dylan Walker, Aaron Woods, Robbie Farah


Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?