Deputy P.M. congratulates new class

By Deidre Tautua-Fanene 20 October 2017, 12:00AM

Deputy Prime Minister, Fiame Naomi Mata’afa, has congratulated the new class of the Leadership Samoa programme.

At the T.A.T.T.E Building yesterday, the class of 2017 was officially announced and welcomed.

Twenty participants from the public and private sector have been chosen from a number of applications.

Chief Executive Officer of Leadership Samoa, Seumanu Douglas Ngau Chun, said the selection is a critical step in their development. 

“We congratulate them on their selection to the program.” 

Seumanu also confirmed that four members from the Leadership Samoa Youthlead initiative are joining the programme for the first time. 

“Last year we launched Youthlead and we decided to include four key members from youth organizations within our fraternity to expose them to the Taimua Samoa environment,” he said in a statement. 

“Hopefully by the end of this year’s intake they will be able to work closely with our Secretariat in designing a similar program for the youths.”

The Deputy Prime Minister opened yesterday’s session. She was followed by various inspirational speakers invited to talk to the class during the day as part of their orientation.

The Leadership Samoa programme is a wide-ranging programme that spans government, private enterprise and community organizations’ across all sectors of Samoa’s economy. 

It is a 10-month programme providing high-level professional training for emerging leaders that focuses on raising awareness of the issues and debates facing each sector. 

It challenges participants to hone their leadership and problem solving skills.

The LS2017 Intake:

1. Akeli Feagaiga: Senior Finances Officer, Development Bank of Samoa

2. Charity Asora: Team Leader Loan and Management Unit, Bank South


3. Eline Salevao: Manager Research Division, Office of the Clerk of Legislative


4. Faavaeolenuu Peniamina Tuisuga: Principal Finance Officer, Office of the

Clerk of Legislative Assembly

5. Frederick Daniel Ah To: Assistant Corporate Finance Manager, British

American Tobacco

6. Georgina Andersen: Personal Banking Manager, Bank South Pacific

7. Jordanna Mareko: Communications Officer, Civil Society Support


8. Mandy Fialogo Rose Skelton-Keil: Principal Policy and Planning Officer,

Ministry of Police

9. Maranatahana Sulusi: Senior Human Resources Administration Officer,

National Health Services

10. Matagofieolefaaolataga Alofaga: Registered Nurse, National Health


11.Matthew Amituanai: Specialist Physiotherapist, National Health Services

12.Melape Pelesa, Senior Loans Officer, Development Bank of Samoa 

13. Poutasi Kamuta Seuseu: Principal Mobility Officer, National Health Services

14. Sia Mini Seumanutafa: Samoa National Youth Council 

15. Tapu Iemaima Gabriel, Head of Department, National University of Samoa

16.Taualogomai Tapulaaia Roebeck: Editor / Producer, Samoa Quality

Broadcasting Ltd

17.Tautuimoana Victory Leavai: Manager Finance and Administration, Samoa

Quality Broadcasting Ltd

18.Tuna Bryce Viali: Principal Human Resources Officer, Samoa Sports

Facilities Authority

19.Tusiga Taofiga: Savali Newspaper / Nuanua o le Alofa 

20.Vaialia Iosua: Principal Community Development Officer, Ministry of Women, Social and Community Development

By Deidre Tautua-Fanene 20 October 2017, 12:00AM

Trending Stories

Samoa Observer

Upgrade to Premium

Subscribe to
Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy unlimited access to all our articles on any device + free trial to e-Edition. You can cancel anytime.