Tour of Samoa champion

Australian Cyclist, Tim Robertson, is the new Champion of the Ford Tour of Samoa 2016.

Robertson’s winning time of 10:09:06 in the 335km four-day race was good enough to secure his first win. This is his second attempt at claiming the title.

It was a close race. 

Second place went to Andrew Price of Wellington, who was 1 minute 30 seconds behind first place. 

Third spot went to another Wellingtonian Mike McKay. He finished 1 minute 30 seconds behind Price. 

In his acceptance speech, Robertson was full of praise of previous champion Christian Wengler who had a bad accident on day 3 which forced him out of the Tour. 

"My victory is hollow,” he said. “Christian was on his way to winning his third Tour of Samoa but for the accident that ended his challenge."

"I accept this victory on his behalf, and on behalf of all the great riders in this year's event."

Race Director, Seti Afoa, was equally excited for the new champ. 

"Tim is a worthy champion. His win is on account of his amazing calculated ride throughout the tour." 

Rebecca Marley of Christchurch was crowned the women's champion for the second year in a row. 

Second place went to Anna Dungey of Cycle Surgery in Christchurch. Third place went to USO rider, Debs Paranihi of Wellington. 

The tour ended with a Victory Ride of 30 riders from Mulifanua wharf to the Town Clock in Apia yesterday.

Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?