New members rejoice

By Ilia L. Likou 05 March 2016, 12:00AM

It’s hard to find where to start in terms of upsets in the General Elections yesterday. The truth is that the country will finally come to grips with a number of new Members of Parliament today once the outcome of first unofficial count sinks in.

As of the early hours of this morning, many new Members of Parliament were celebrating triumph with their families and supporters.

One of them was Afamasaga Rico Tupa’i, who was among the first new Members of Parliament to be declared.

At Aana Alofi No. 3, Afamasaga defeated Toeolesulusulu Cedric Schuster of the Tautua Samoa Party with 836 votes. Toeolesulusulu collected 709 votes while Leituala Vaafusuga got 107 votes.

 “I am very humbled and honoured to be chosen as A’ana Alofi No. 3 Member of Parliament for the next five years,” Afamasaga told the Weekend Observer. “The journey hasn't been easy but I thank God for his faithfulness and his blessings. It was him who made it possible. 

 “This is the result of a vision that He placed in my heart to run for the election.”

Afamasaga said he is ready to serve his constituency.

“Whatever plans that the government directs me to work on in the next five years, I will give my best,” he said.

“I would also like to thank everyone for their support in so many ways especially Fasito’o-tai and Vailu’utai...not forgetting my family, wife and children.”

He also acknowledged Toeolesulusulu.

Another big upset was staged at the Urban West seat where newcomer Faumuina Wayne Fong unseated Maualaivao Pat Ah Him. Faumuina secured 1100 votes to overcome Maualaivao who had 934 votes. Matafeo Dan Aiafi came third with 825 votes.

“I’ m obviously thrilled with the result,” Faumuina said. “I don't have much to say at this time as I’m still collecting my thoughts but I am extremely grateful to all my supporters and my family for all they have done.”

Faimalotoa Kika Stowers echoed similar sentiments. At Gagaifomauga No 1, she defeated Lavea Ieti with 592 votes. He polled 445 votes.

“I’m just grateful for the support from my constituency,” she said.  “I’ll continue to stand and represent my constituency the best I can. This is the reason why I’m here today not only as Member of Parliament but also to act as the voice of the people.”


New members

• At Anoama’a Sasae, Alaiasa Sepulona Moananu won with 666 votes.

• Ili Setefano Ta’ateo has unseated Tolofuaivalelei Falemoe Leiataua at Aana Alofi No. 2. He scored 814 votes to Tolofua’s 556.

• At Palauli I Sisifo, Afoa Faleulu Mauli unseated Agafili Patisela with 652 votes. Agafili came third with 419 votes while Leota Lene collected 451 votes.

• Vaimauga West 2 has a new M.P. He is Faaolesa Katopau Ainuu who won with 1453 votes. Lefau Harry Schuster polled 423. 

• At Faleata East, Salausa Dr. John Ah Ching won with 703 votes. Aulavemai Tafito came second with 553 votes.    

• Sagaga le Falefa has returned Loau Keneti Sio to Parliament. He polled a total of 1423 votes to unseat Tuisa Patea who came second with 999 votes. 

• Sili Epa Tuioti narrowly defeated Pauli Ivan Williams at Faasaleleaga No. 1 East. Sili polled 475 to Pauli’s 471. 

• At Faasaleleaga No. 2, Pau Sefo Pau unseated Papali’i Taeau Masipau. Pau polled 708 with Namualuulu Sami Leota collecting 683 votes. Papalii secured 640 votes.    

• Tuifaasisina Lisati Leleisiuao won the race at Palauli East, polling 909 votes. In doing so, he has unseated Afoafouvale John Moors who managed 613 votes.

• At Gagaemauga No. 2, Faaso’otauloa Pati is back in Parliament. He secured 201 votes with his closest rival being Seuoti Sheryl polling 160 votes. 

• Vaisigano No. 1 has a new Member of Parliament. He is Lopao’o Natanielu Mua, who unseated Tufuga Gafoaleata Faitua. Lopao’o won with 792 votes. 

• The Minister of Communications, Tuisugaletaua Sofara Aveau, has been unseated at Vaimauga East. He was defeated by Sulumanaia Tuiliili Tuivasa who collected 938 votes. Tuisuga polled 813.

• At Aiga i le Tai, Ifopo Matia Filisi has been unseated by Mulipola Leiataua Laki. He collected 1346 votes while Ifopo, his closest rival, only managed 790 votes.

• Former MP for Gagaemauga No. 2, Levaopolo Talatonu is back in Parliament as Salega East’s new MP. This time he comes as Olo Fiti Vaai. Olo secured 284 votes to defeat the incumbent Tapuai Toese Ah Sam who collected 149 votes.

• Salega West has a new MP. He is Toomata Aki who defeated Afualo Dr. Wood Salele with 648 votes. Afualo managed 409 votes.

• Aliimalemanu Alofa Tuuau has become the first female candidate to secure a seat. She defeated Lafaitale Patrick Leiataualesa at Alataua West.

• The leader of the Tautua Samoa Party, Palusalue Faapo II lost the battle at Safata East. Him and the Minister of Works, Manualesagalala Enokati Posala have been defeated by Leaana Ronnie Posini who collected 957 votes. Palusalue had 655 while Manua managed 610 votes.

• At Siumu, Faalogo Iosefa Sopi is the new MP, defeating Tuu’u Anasii Leota. Faalogo secured 718 votes while Tuuu collected 672.

• Toleafoa Ken Poutoa has won the Lefaga and Faleaseela battle with 895 votes. Sua Tanielu came second with 697 votes while Lemalu Siliva came third with 434.

• Nonu Lose Niumata won the Safata East contest. He collected 520 votes, ahead of Leota Suatele, 375 and Luamatiamanu Purcell who had 376. 

• Fuimaono Samuelu Teo won the Falealili East contest. With a total of 409 votes, he has edged out his rivals Fuimano Esera Rimoni, 22 votes, Tofu Falefa Lima, 27 votes, Fuimaono Alex Wright, 312 and Maiava Viiga 202.

By Ilia L. Likou 05 March 2016, 12:00AM

Trending Stories

Samoa Observer

Upgrade to Premium

Subscribe to
Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy unlimited access to all our articles on any device + free trial to e-Edition. You can cancel anytime.