Warriors win Women’s rugby tournament

By Ulimasao Fata 26 March 2018, 12:00AM

The Warriors are the reigning champions of the first leg of the Samoa Rugby Union 2018 National Women’s Sevens Series.

They defeated Apia Maroons, 10-7 in the final.

The tournament was played at the Apia Park Stadium.

Eight teams vied for the first prize.

The National Women’s Sevens Series is a commitment by the Samoa Rugby Union to grow women’s rugby in clubs and provincial unions.

“The S.R.U. is looking to the process with sevens but slowly transition to 10-a-side rugby and eventually most importantly 15-a-side rugby which is the main goal for women’s rugby this year.

“Samoa Rugby Union’s main goal is to bring women’s rugby to be on par with men’s rugby and incorporate a women’s competition in the Super 9 Rugby Championship with all nine franchises with a women’s team.”

The Aleipata 2 team came in 7th place throughout the tournament, while Aana Blues came 5th after defeating Aleipata 1 side for the 5th placing competition.

Third place went to Tiavea side who won against Mataiva girl’s side 22-7 points at fulltime.

The next leg of the Samoa Rugby Union Women’s Sevens Series is schedule to be the Aana Leg at Leulumoega Fou College grounds on the 7th of April, followed by the last tournament which will be held over at Aleipata region on April 14th.

By Ulimasao Fata 26 March 2018, 12:00AM

Trending Stories

Samoa Observer

Upgrade to Premium

Subscribe to
Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy unlimited access to all our articles on any device + free trial to e-Edition. You can cancel anytime.