Toa Samoa Residents Squad Named

By Sina Sevaaetasi 06 October 2016, 12:00AM

The Toa Samoa Residents officially announced their selection for their 18-man squad  against New South Wales Country ( NSW) this Saturday. 

 Capitan and Vice Capitan David Masoe and Tevaga Paul Chang Tung will be leading the boys in to battle for this upcoming match.  

Toa Samoa Residence and New South Wales Country have faced off before in 2012, leaving the Residence with a double loss.

However ,  the team has come a long way since then, making an extensive amount of progress in a small window  of time.   

The team features several overseas residents’ players from Australia and New Zealand, and has received guidance from Toa Samoa Head Coach, Matt Parish. 

Vice Capitan, Paul Chang Tung stated,“The Toa Samoa Residence team has improved a lot in terms of the technicality of the game and how the game is played. 

It’s because of the awareness that the players have been through with Matt Parish coming on board. The boys have been exposed to the coaching by Matt Parish.”  

The team is raring to go this Saturday and is ecstatic to be apart of this historical occasion for Rugby League Samoa. 

 “We’re celebrating 30 years of rugby league in Samoa so its super important in that regard and it will be in front of our people.  

It’s a huge atmosphere and it’s going to be really packed.  All the boys are excited to be playing,” Chang Tung said. 

Here is your official Toa Samoa Residents Team : 

• Heing Faanoi

•  Junior Iati

•  Tanielu Pasene

•  Davy Fetalaiga

•  David Masoe

•  Tevaga Paul Chan Tung

•  Ionatana Tino

•  Aotealofa Jaden Tuimavave

•  Simon-Peter Ieremia

•  Iosua Afoa

•  Faafou Amate

•  Jonny Samuelu

•  Mikaele Uati

•  Uputaua Peter Suluape

•  Leo Brown

•  Tiamu Viliamu

•  Jesse Matafeo

•  Maxwell Seumanutafa

By Sina Sevaaetasi 06 October 2016, 12:00AM

Trending Stories

Samoa Observer

Upgrade to Premium

Subscribe to
Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy unlimited access to all our articles on any device + free trial to e-Edition. You can cancel anytime.