Football prizegiving awards best of 2018

Samoan football clubs, players and referees won shares of $64,800 tala at the Football Federation of Samoa (F.F.S.) annual Upolu Prize Giving yesterday afternoon.

Referee Maria Salamasina was also recognised for being appointed to the FIFA Women’s World Cup next year. 

The money comes from international football federation FIFA, and is split amongst the prizewinners

F.F.S. competitions manager Papalii Laautuivanu Le Mamea said the Samoan federation want to develop every club in the country.

“This allows them to purchase gear for the clubs,” he said.

“It’s almost a bit of a Christmas present for them.”

Awards were given to the top four clubs in under-17s, under-20s, 5-a-side, 7-a-side, senior first division and premier division competitions for both men and women.

The women’s competitions across the board received less prize money than the men’s.

For example, men’s Premier champions Kiwi FC received $6,000 tala where the women’s Premier champions Faatoia United received only $4000 tala.

Le Mamea said the prizes are based on the number of teams playing in that specific competition, and therefore the number of games they play.

“F.F.S. wants all the clubs to have their own women’s teams, we’re aiming to increase the numbers across every division.

“It depends on how each club promote the opportunities to have women’s teams, to make more women want to participate.”

Le Mamea said the youth competitions feature a lot of young talent.

“Our main objective there is to feed the senior divisions.

“A lot of players in our U17 and U20 competitions went very well in the senior grade as well.

“From there we have the Pacific Games squads for our national teams.”


U17 Girls

Champions: Faatoia United

MVP: Illiana Alatise, Kiwi FC

Golden Boot: Vineta Faleaana, Kiwi FC

Golden Glove: Tafaoga Akari, Faatoia United


U17 Boys

Champions: Faleasiu SC

MVP: Bitner Tafili, Lupe o le Soaga

Golden Boot: Alex Falelua, Faleasiu SC

Golden Glove: Steve Vainalepa, Faleasiu SC


U20 Girls

Champions: Kiwi FC

MVP: Vineta Faleaana, Kiwi FC

Golden Boot: Shalom Fiso, Faatoia United

Golden Glove: Jecky Toma, Faatoia United


U20 Boys

Champions: Vaivase SC

MVP: Falaniko Lanuomea, Vaivase SC

Golden Boot: Ronnie Bourne, Vaitele SC

Golden Glove: Talita Hafoka, Moaula SC



Men’s Champions: Lupe o le Soaga

Women’s Champions: Faatoia United



Men’s Champions: Kiwi FC

Women’s Champions: Moataa SC


Women’s 1st Division

Champions: Lotopa SC

MVP: Paepae Tuitama, Faleasiu KS

Golden Boot: Paepae Tuitama, Faleasiu KS

Golden Glove: Leitu Ah Leong, Faleasiu KS


Men’s 1st Division

Champions: Faatoia United

MVP: Dean Faafetai, Faatoia United

Golden Boot: Jay Krishna, Sogi SC

Golden Glove: Rayman Tokuma, Sogi SC


Women’s Premier Division

Champions: Faatoia United

MVP: Melesete Aia, Faatoia United

Golden Boot: Hazel Peleti, Moataa FC

Golden Glove: Jecky Toma, Faatoia United


Men’s Premier Division

Champions: Kiwi FC

MVP: Albert Bell, Kiwi FC

Golden Boot: Samuelu Malo, Kiwi FC

Golden Glove: Semu Faimata, Kiwi FC


Best Female Coach of the Year: Lanuola Von Herderbrandt, Adidas SC

Best Male Coach of the Year: Martin Tamasese, Kiwi FC

Referee of the Year: Lematua Peti

Up and Coming Match Official 2018: Gerard Ionatana

Fair Play Award: Adidas SC

Related Stories

Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?