Team Samoa named

By Ulimasao Fata 24 March 2018, 12:00AM

The Team Samoa for the upcoming Gold Coast Commonwealth Games in April has been announced.

The announcement was made by the President of the Samoa Association of Sports and National Olympic Committee, Patrick Fepulea’i, at their headquarters yesterday.  

Sixty-four people will be travelling to the Commonwealth Games. Thirty-eight are athletes the rest are the team officials and management.

Samoa will be participating in seven sports including athletics, boxing, bowling, shooting, weightlifting, swimming and Rugby Sevens.

A few overseas-based athletes have been selected for Team Samoa, including Samoan Sprinter, Jeremy Dodson. Other athletes include the likes of Boxer, Leau Faoagali Ato, from Australia, Frank Masoe of New Zealand and Valentin Kondakov who is based in Russia.

The 2017 secondary schools athletics sprinter, Kelvin Masoe, has also been selected. The weightlifting team are based in Samoa. 

Fepulea’i said they are expecting medals from all the games Samoa will be competing in, given the quality athletes selected to compete and represent Samoa.

“We have high expectations from our athletes who will be representing our country, especially from our main core sports like weightlifting, boxing and hopefully our Rugby Sevens.”

The Gold Coast Commonwealth Games is scheduled for April 4 - 15.


Team Samoa 


Jeremy Dodson

Donny Tuimaseve

Alexander Rose

Kelvin Masoe

Kolone Alefosio

Shupeng Ah-Vui

Ah Chong Sam Chong (Officials)

Tagiifano So’onalole (Officials)


Henry Tyrell

Frank Masoe

Leau Faoagali Ato

Valentin Kondakov

Tavui Mike Lemisio (Officials)

Lionel Fatupaito (Officials) 

Ronny Sinclair (Officials)


Edward Pio Bell

Herbert George Bell


Papalii Francis Cafferelli

Fatu Paul Loibl

Sigfried Levi

Leasi John Galuvao

Moefaauo Salale Moananu (Officials)


Brandon Shuster

Alania Suttie

Lushavel Stickland

Suzie Shuster (Officials)


Feagaiga Stowers

Don Opeloge

Lauititi Lui

Vaipava Nevo Ioane

Sanele Mao

Siaosi Leuo

Tuaopepe Jerry Wallwork (Officials)

Salimu Lui (Officials)

Faavae Faauliuli (Officials) 

Ele Opeloge (Officials)

Mary Opeloge (Officials)

Rugby 7s

Alatasi Tupou

Joe Perez

Laaloi Leilua

Murphy Paulo

Tila Mealoi

Tom Iosefo

Elisapeta Alofipo

David Afamasaga

Silao Talimao

Neria Fomai

Jacob Whittaker

Alamanda Motuga

Logotuli Tomasi

Sir Gordon Tietjens (Officials)

Shalom Senara (Officials)

Paul Tietjens (Officials)

Hari Narayan (Officials) 

Joshua Melrose (Officials) 

Team Management

Nynette Sass (Chef De Mission)

Tuala Mathew Vaea (General Team Manager)

Seine Toma (Team Attache)

Dr. Carmichael Patu (Team Dr.)

Casey Williams (Physiotherapist)

Muscat Daniel (Physiotherapist)

Luāpu’a Beauman Reti (Media)

In Attendance

Patrick Fepulea’i (President)

Pauga Talalelei Pauga (Secretary General)

By Ulimasao Fata 24 March 2018, 12:00AM

Trending Stories

Samoa Observer

Upgrade to Premium

Subscribe to
Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy unlimited access to all our articles on any device + free trial to e-Edition. You can cancel anytime.