Parliament observes silence to pay respects

Parliament last Friday observed a minute of silence to pay respects to former Members Patea Satini Epati and Hans Joachim "Joe" Keil, who passed away recently. 

The Speaker of the House, Leaupepe Toleafoa Faafisi, made the announcement in the chamber and led his peers in showing their respects.

Leaupepe said Patea was a Member for Faaalaalafaga o Sagaga Le Falefa in the XIII Parliamentary Term (2001-2006) and stood as an Independent Member. He was also the Parliament’s Health and Social Services Committee deputy chairperson.

Keil entered Parliament as an Independent Member for five parliamentary terms covering the 10th House (1988-1991) to the 14th House (2006-2011), said Leaupepe.

“He then accentuated the late Keil was also a representative for the Human Rights Protection Party and was also a member for the Petition Committee from 1988-1991. He was then elected as the deputy chairperson for the Bills Committee, Petition Committee and the Official (Tulaga Aloaia) Committee from 1991-1996. 

“In 2006-2011, he was a Member for House Committee and a Deputy Chairperson for Government Administration Committee as well as the Parliamentary Secretary for the Ministry of Commerce, Industry and Labour.”

Mr Speaker then conveyed his condolences to the families and children of the two former Members on behalf of the Parliament and called upon the House to observe a minute of silence.

Bg pattern light


Subscribe to Samoa Observer Online

Enjoy access to over a thousand articles per month, on any device as well as feature-length investigative articles.

Ready to signup?